We recently launched a Patreon campaign! If you like what we're doing here and would like to show your support, you can check it out here.
Forums > Site Feedback > My Playthroughs page bug
dhobo
Curator
Posts: 1528
Registered: 1/5/2015
darwinsocialism
42 8,460
# 1 - Posted on 4/08/18 17:28:52

Something seems to have broken after adding Psychonauts to my playthroughs. Adding the game appears to have worked, however, none of my playthroughs now show up on the My Playthroughs page by default.

They're still there, however, as I can still see them on My Profile page and if I start typing a name in the search bar of My Playthroughs, appropriate entries start to show up. It's only when the search bar is left blank that nothing appears.

Could this be related to the recent changes made to incorporate PRF data like platform specific box art, etc...?

Update: Moving the Psychonauts playthrough to be archived resulted in the older current entries being able to display again. Showing archived playthroughs works fine as well, including Psychonauts. Weird.

Post Edited on 4/08/18 17:31:34
moho_00
Curator
Backer
Posts: 3385
Registered: 6/10/2011
moho_00
67 60,245
# 2 - Posted on 4/08/18 20:13:41

I think this is the same issue that @merph518 ran into a while back. It's due to too much data being passed back when performing a search. Having playthroughs alone isn't enough to cause the issue (which is why it's not an issue elsewhere on the site), but what can push it over the edge is having a large number of goals. The same can be said for time entries, but I've found those are often far less than goals for most users that use both. Because we didn't have goals when I first built the page, I just kinda bolted it on and then they took off (which is good!)

Ultimately, the solution here is to rewrite the page a bit so the goal summary (i.e. "x goals completed out of y" and the progress bar) is displayed, but the individual goals (along with their status and buttons) are only loaded if you click on the summary to expand the section. As I mentioned before, time entries aren't really the problem here, but they should probably be switched over to work this way as well since I'll be under the hood anyways.

It's been on my list for a while now and it's bound to happen to more users as time goes by, so I think I'll push this one up to the top. So if there is any other feedback on this page, now would be the time to speak up hehe

moho_00
Curator
Backer
Posts: 3385
Registered: 6/10/2011
moho_00
67 60,245
# 3 - Posted on 4/14/18 20:17:26

I modified the Playthroughs page so goals are not loaded initially. You'll still see the summary info, but the actual goals themselves are only loaded if you click into them. This should also provide a slight improvement to the initial load time of the page, but more importantly, should eliminate the bug reported here. It took a bit longer than I anticipated, so I haven't switched over time entries to work the same way. I figured we'll see how this does and then I can make more modifications, if needed.

dhobo
Curator
Posts: 1528
Registered: 1/5/2015
darwinsocialism
42 8,460
# 4 - Posted on 4/14/18 20:21:50

Nice, awesome work. Time well worth it if issues are squashed. :)

Forums > Site Feedback > My Playthroughs page bug